Frasier

During the past few examination periods, I’ve woken every morning to the show ‘Frasier’ on Channel Four. My mum always watches it in the morning at breakfast, and during study leave I’m at home to join her.

As a 19 year old, I’ve always found it difficult to share my appreciation for the show. I strongly suspect I am not its target audience, and hardly any people my age have heard of it. I make fun of myself for liking it, and I recommend it by appealing to the middle-aged lady in my friends.

The writing is so so witty. You just don’t get these kinds of sitcoms anymore. While I don’t hate ‘the big bang theory’ and ‘how I met your mother’ etc, the shows really do bore me. I don’t know why that is. The shows seem so tedious and superficial. I can’t really relate to the characters. Not that a 43 year old psychiatrist from Seattle is relatable. He is pompous and fussy, but well meaning and easy to laugh at. I feel like that is one of the reasons I enjoy the show so much. Here is an intellectual, kind and well-meaning man, who prides himself on his principles and ethics, and here’s how much everything can go wrong in one episode. Laughing at him is ironically, the best form of therapy I can get during study leave, when stress levels are high. I can’t think of a contemporary show that compares with Frasier. When I explained Frasier to a friend, she expressed the same frustrations with modern television. She recommended Seinfeld, also from the Golden Age of situation comedy.

Perhaps I should start watching shows that people my age are more interested in. Like Game of Thrones and Sherlock. The reason I never have before, is that I’ve never been technology savvy enough to know how to safely stream shows online at decent quality. And my parents will not pay for television on principle. For now at least, Frasier remains my guilty morning pleasure.

3 thoughts on “Frasier

  1. I loved Frasier in its heyday, as well as Seinfeld. I think truly brilliant shows don’t necessarily need a target audience. I’m a huge fan of Game of Thrones (I’m 45), and I only know one person your age who watches! Go figure. It’s really a matter of taste.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, I’m like you when it comes to not really being into the same things as other people my age. I have to admit: I’ve never watched Frasier, but I am familiar with the show. I was just too young to watch it when it originally aired. Like you, I ain’t tech savvy enough to figure out how to watch it now. Your description has piqued my interest though! Perhaps it’s on Netflix? I’ll search for it. I think I can do that 😉 Thanks for the follow by the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

