Flash Fiction

Every morning I wake up in the armpit of this alien world. It’s pounding in my ears and I can’t stop it. It doesn’t care. It doesn’t even know. Somebody doesn’t exist anymore.

Flash fiction, also called micro fiction, is a style of fictional literature of extreme brevity. This is my first attempt at flash fiction and I found it liberating. You don’t really feel the time pressure one might experience whilst planning an article or essay, nor are you tempted to show off your writing skills.

With a writing prompt, I based this one on my experience of grief. I chose to leave it without a title in order to allow the reader to interpret their own way.

Leave a Reply

